# Method vs TeamBuildr: team and facility software compared with private one-to-one coaching

Updated: 2026-09-07
Published: 2026-09-07
Canonical page: https://methodapp.net/teambuildr-alternative
Homepage: https://methodapp.net/

TeamBuildr is strength and conditioning software for high schools, colleges, pro teams, facilities, and tactical units, priced per organisation with unlimited coaches. Method is a Coach Workspace for one coach who programs clients one to one, with per-set RIR or RPE prescriptions, publish review, and annotated form checks. They serve different buyers, and this page shows where each one fits.

Checked against:

- TeamBuildr homepage (https://www.teambuildr.com/) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr pricing page (https://www.teambuildr.com/pricing) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr Strength platform page (https://www.teambuildr.com/platform-strength) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr AMS page (https://www.teambuildr.com/platform-ams) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr OS page (https://www.teambuildr.com/platform-os) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr free trial page (https://www.teambuildr.com/start-free-trial) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr help center (https://support.teambuildr.com/) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr help center, Offline Mode on mobile (https://support.teambuildr.com/article/n02k8jozsa-offline-mode-on-mobile-explained) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr help center, Online Payment Portal overview (https://support.teambuildr.com/article/wba3997xrq-online-payment-portal-overview) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr help center, Stripe transaction charges (https://support.teambuildr.com/article/d2cynfitju-what-are-the-stripe-transaction-charges) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr help center, compatible wearable devices (https://support.teambuildr.com/article/ifp1a347r9-what-devices-compatible-with-team-buildr) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr help center, the Team Feed (https://support.teambuildr.com/article/JhqnYeJcAq-the-team-feed) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr help center, Habit Tracker (https://support.teambuildr.com/article/3mnm55vfdf-consistency-coach-dashboard-overview) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr help center, cast a workout on a TV (https://support.teambuildr.com/article/716nh7i0p3-cast-a-workout-on-a-tv) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr help center, recurring workout items (https://support.teambuildr.com/article/t5talti5mh-recurring-workout-items) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr help center, webhooks integration (https://support.teambuildr.com/article/xciw1tj2ap-webhooks-integration) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr Training on the App Store (https://apps.apple.com/us/app/teambuildr-training/id1588729407) on 2026-09-07
- TeamBuildr Training on Google Play (https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.teambuildr.reactnative.android.production) on 2026-09-07

> **In short.** TeamBuildr is strength and conditioning software for organisations. High schools, colleges, professional teams, private facilities, and tactical units run their weight rooms on it. Coaches program team calendars, load by percent of each athlete's max, and run leaderboards. It starts at $90 per month for up to 50 athlete profiles with unlimited coaches. Method is a Coach Workspace for one coach who programs clients one to one. You write per-set RIR or RPE prescriptions, review every change before you publish, and draw on form check videos. It starts at $19.99 per month with 5 clients. The two serve different buyers. Pick TeamBuildr if you run a team or a facility. Pick Method if each client gets their own program.

## The short version of each app

TeamBuildr calls itself strength and conditioning software for strength coaches and gyms. It has run since 2012 and counts more than 5,500 coaches, teams, and facilities. The core product is now written TeamBuildr Strength, with AMS, OS, and Practice as add-ons. Coaches build in a web builder with date-based, free-form, and day-stacking views. Programs sit on Parent, Sub, and Athlete calendars, so one master template deploys across every team. Loads are a percentage of each athlete's max. Athletes log in the TeamBuildr Training app on iOS or Android, or on a shared tablet in Weight Room View. Coaches read tonnage, reps, and session duration, run leaderboards, and export reports. Questionnaires, chat, a Team Feed, Stripe payments, and unlimited coaches come in every tier.

Method is a workout planner and tracker for structured strength and cardio training. Its Coach Workspace is for coaches who program clients. The coach side is a web app. You build programs in a Coach Library with blocks, weeks, sessions, and per-set prescriptions. Each program is published to one client at a time. The client follows it in the iPhone app, logs every set, answers check-ins, and sends form checks. Every completed workout stores the prescription it started from. Coaching is one to one. There are no teams, no leaderboards, and no client billing.

## Side by side

TeamBuildr facts come from its website, help center, and store listings on the date at the top of this page. Method facts come from the shipped product.

| | Method | TeamBuildr |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Who it is for | Coaches who program clients one to one | Schools, colleges, pro teams, facilities, and tactical units, priced per organisation |
| Coach side runs on | Web app | Web app, plus coach features in the iOS and Android app |
| Client side runs on | iPhone app (iOS 26 or later); the web does not log | iOS 16 or later and Android; Weight Room View on shared tablets; web logging not described on the pages checked |
| Android | No | Yes |
| Program builder | Web editor with blocks, weeks, sessions, spreadsheet view, bulk-edit rules with preview | Web BUILD with date-based, free-form, and day-stacking views; Parent, Sub, and Athlete calendars |
| Set prescription | Set type, reps as exact, range, or AMRAP, RIR or RPE with half values, rest seconds, tempo, notes, load as a percentage of another set | Sets and reps, percent of each athlete's max, notes, supersets, circuits, cluster sets; RPE, RIR, AMRAP, tempo, and rest not described on the pages checked |
| Cardio in programs | 20 activity types in the same session, with distance or duration targets and intervals | Cardio and SAQ items; Pacing from run PRs on Platinum and above |
| Program delivery | Publish to one client at a time, coach dated or client placed, with publish review | Team, group, or athlete calendars; free-form programs to groups and individuals |
| Program library and templates | Coach Library programs and a workspace exercise library | Saved programs; Exercise Database and Videos in every tier; Training Templates on Platinum and above |
| Program sales or marketplace | No | Payments Portal sells memberships or one-time charges; no cross-coach marketplace described |
| Auto-generated or AI programming | No | Not described on the pages checked; percent loading adjusts automatically to each athlete's maxes |
| Client logging | iPhone app logs every set and cardio detail | iOS and Android app with Offline Mode; Weight Room View on one tablet |
| What the coach sees | Coach Today with Review, Reply, and Plan; per client Training, Trends (estimated 1RM), Check-ins, Form checks, private Notes; planned versus completed | Tonnage, reps, and session duration; 1RMs and bodyweight; more than 16 report types; dynamic leaderboards |
| Video form feedback | Either side starts one; pause, draw on the frame, timestamped notes, summary; allowance per workspace and client | Athletes record form video for the coach; drawing or timestamped comments not described on the pages checked |
| Check-ins and forms | Templates from your own questions, intake forms, rhythm per client | Wellness Questionnaires with colour-coded thresholds; Evaluations; photos not described on the pages checked |
| Messaging | One conversation per client; text, photos, videos; push; encrypted per message | In-app chat with push, individually or as groups; Team Feed |
| Habits and nutrition | None | Habit Tracker with the AMS add-on; nutrition and meal plans not described on the pages checked |
| Client payments and billing | None | Online Payments in every tier, built on Stripe; memberships, one-time charges, coupons; no TeamBuildr fee |
| Custom-branded app | No | Custom logo and colours in every tier; custom app icon with the Strength and OS bundle |
| Integrations | Apple Health and Apple Watch cardio on the athlete side | Apple Health (Apple Watch, Whoop, Garmin, Polar, Oura); VBT and API on Platinum Pro; force plates; Stripe; Zapier |
| Team seats | Additional workspace member $9.99 per month | Unlimited coaches on every tier |
| Trial | 14 days | Free, no credit card; length not stated on the pages checked |
| Price (USD, date checked) | $19.99 per month, $2.00 per additional client, annual at 10 months for 12 | Silver $90 per month or $900 per year, up to Platinum Pro at $280 per month |
| Clients included | 5 | 50 profiles on Silver, 250 on Gold, 500 on Platinum, 1,000 on Platinum Pro |

## Where Method is stronger

**Every set carries a structured prescription.** A Method set has a type of warm-up, working, drop, or failure. Reps are exact, a range, or AMRAP. Effort is RIR or RPE with half values, stored once as RIR and shown as either. Rest seconds, tempo, notes, and load as a percentage of another set are fields on the set. TeamBuildr documents sets and reps, percent of max, notes, and warm-ups. RPE, RIR, AMRAP, tempo, and rest fields are not described on the pages checked.

**You see what the client will receive before it lands.** Editing a published program changes nothing for the client until you publish again. Publish review lists every change the client will get. If the structure or training days changed, Method offers Publish and reschedule. Unassign removes future sessions and keeps completed workouts.

**Check-ins are your questions.** You build templates from written answer, yes or no, choice, rating, number, pain or injury, measurement, and photo questions. A Client intake template is asked once and can carry a medical history section. Each client gets a rhythm, and Method sends each check-in when due. TeamBuildr's questionnaires are wellness questionnaires with colour-coded thresholds. Photo questions are not described on the pages checked.

**Form checks get drawn on and kept.** Either side can start a form check. You pause the video, draw on the paused frame, leave a note at that timestamp, and send a summary. The client sees the drawings and notes in the app and can return to them. You set an allowance per workspace and override it per client. TeamBuildr athletes record form video and it posts to the Feed or Journal. Coach drawing and timestamped comments are not described on the pages checked.

**Conversations stay between you and the client.** Messages are encrypted with a fresh data key per message. Other workspace members, including owners and admins, do not inherit access to your conversation. Client notes are private to the workspace, and clients never see them.

**The price fits one coach.** The Coach Workspace starts at $19.99 per month with 5 clients. TeamBuildr's entry tier is $90 per month for an organisation.

## Where TeamBuildr is stronger

**Teams, groups, and calendars.** TeamBuildr is built around the roster. Parent, Sub, and Athlete calendars let you build a master template once and deploy it across every team. Free-form programs go to groups and individuals. Chat works individually or as groups, and the Team Feed carries coach posts. Dynamic leaderboards rank athletes. Method has no groups, no team calendar, no group chat, and no leaderboards.

**The weight room itself.** Weight Room View turns a shared tablet into an individual workout station for 4 to 8 athletes. Platinum and above cast workouts to a TV or Whiteboard. Athletes log on iOS or Android, and Offline Mode holds data until the signal returns. Method clients need an iPhone on iOS 26 or later.

**Percent of max and max management.** TeamBuildr writes loads as a percentage of each athlete's Training or Working max, and the numbers adjust as maxes change. It supports multi-rep max testing and linked lift maxes, and athletes may manage their own maxes. Method has no percent-of-tested-1RM prescription and no auto-progression.

**Reporting and performance technology.** Coaches see tonnage, reps, and session duration per session. More than 16 report types export, and Raw Data CSV comes on Platinum and above. Platinum Pro adds VBT analytics for GymAware, Perch, Output, Vitruve, and Enode, plus API access. Hawkin Dynamics, VALD, Catapult, and Kitman Labs are listed as integrations. Apple Health brings in Apple Watch, Whoop, Garmin, Polar, and Oura data. Method's coach view shows completed sessions and estimated 1RM trends, with no coach-specific export.

**Payments, branding, and the front desk.** Online Payments come in every tier, built on Stripe, with memberships, one-time charges, and coupons. TeamBuildr says there is no TeamBuildr fee on those sales. Custom logo and colours come in every tier. TeamBuildr OS adds booking, point of sale, and a check-in kiosk for $200 per month. Method processes no payments, has no branding options, and has no client-facing booking.

**Unlimited coaches and track record.** Every Strength tier includes unlimited coaches. Method charges $9.99 per month for each additional workspace member. TeamBuildr has run since 2012. Method's athlete app launched in April 2026 and coaching is launching now.

## Pricing, read carefully

TeamBuildr prices per organisation by athlete profile count, in USD, with unlimited coaches on every tier. Silver is $90 per month or $900 per year for up to 50 profiles. Gold is $150 per month for up to 250. Platinum is $200 per month for up to 500 and adds Weight Room View and TV displays. Platinum Pro is $280 per month for up to 1,000 and adds VBT and API. Annual billing is 10 times the monthly rate. AMS is $50 per month and OS is $200 per month. The trial takes no credit card, and its length is not stated. There is no free tier and no solo-trainer plan. Payments Portal sales carry no TeamBuildr fee. Stripe's US rate is listed at 2.9% plus 30 cents.

Method's Coach Workspace is $19.99 per month in USD on the web on the date checked. It includes 5 clients and the owner as the workspace member. Each additional client is $2.00 per month and each additional member is $9.99 per month. Annual billing charges 10 months for 12, so the base workspace is $199.90 per year. The trial is 14 days. Client invitations and messaging start with the first payment. Clients use their own Method account, free or Pro.

The worked example assumes one coach on monthly billing, no extra member, no add-ons, and no feature above Silver.

Five clients. TeamBuildr Silver is $90 per month. Method is $19.99 per month.

Fifteen clients. TeamBuildr Silver still covers it at $90 per month. Method is $19.99 plus 10 extra clients at $2.00, which is $39.99 per month.

Thirty clients. TeamBuildr Silver still covers it at $90 per month. Method is $19.99 plus 25 extra clients at $2.00, which is $69.99 per month.

Method is cheaper at each of the three sizes for one coach. The gap closes as the roster grows, because Silver holds up to 50 profiles at a flat $90. On annual billing Silver is $900 per year and Method's base is $199.90 per year before extra clients. TeamBuildr's price also covers every coach on staff. Three coaches on Method would pay $19.99 plus two members at $9.99 each. Live prices are on Method's [pricing page](/pricing) and TeamBuildr's pricing page.

## Who should pick which

Pick TeamBuildr if you run a school, college, team, facility, or tactical program. It fits if several coaches share one roster and athletes train from a group calendar. Choose it if you load by percent of max, run leaderboards, or plug in VBT. It also fits if you take payments through the platform or have athletes on Android.

Pick Method if you are one coach and each client gets a program written for them. It fits if you want RIR or RPE, rest, and tempo as fields on every set. Choose it if you want publish review, check-ins from your own questions, and form check videos you can draw on. Read [Method for coaches](/coaches) and the [coaching docs](/docs/method-for-coaches) for the full workflow. If you are weighing TeamBuildr against another team platform, see [TrainHeroic vs TeamBuildr](/trainheroic-vs-teambuildr).

## What Method does not do

Method has no teams, no training groups, no group calendars, no group chat, no leaderboards, and no community feed. It has no client billing, no invoicing, no memberships, and no Stripe payments. There is no Android app, no tablet mode, no TV casting, and no coach app on iPhone. Clients need an iPhone on iOS 26 or later. Method does not prescribe by percent of tested 1RM, does not auto-progress loads, and does not generate programs. There is no VBT, force plate, webhook, or API integration, no Zapier, and no coach-specific export. There is no nutrition, habit, or sleep tracking, no custom branding, no client-facing booking, and no waivers. Each additional workspace member costs $9.99 per month.

## Common questions

### Is Method a TeamBuildr alternative?

For a coach who programs clients one to one, yes. Method gives you per-set RIR or RPE targets, publish review, custom check-ins, and annotated form checks from $19.99 per month. For a school, college, team, or facility, no. TeamBuildr is built for team calendars, shared tablets, leaderboards, and unlimited coaches, and Method has none of those.

### Can Method run a team or a group like TeamBuildr?

No. Method coaching is one to one. Each program is published to one client at a time. There are no training groups, team calendars, group chat, or leaderboards.

### Which is cheaper, Method or TeamBuildr?

On the date checked, TeamBuildr Silver was $90 per month or $900 per year for up to 50 athlete profiles with unlimited coaches, in USD. Method is $19.99 per month for 5 clients plus $2.00 per month for each additional client, with annual billing at 10 months for 12. Method is cheaper at 5, 15, and 30 clients for one coach. TeamBuildr's price covers a whole staff.

### Can I prescribe RPE or RIR in TeamBuildr?

TeamBuildr's site and help center describe sets and reps, percent of each athlete's max, notes, and warm-ups. RPE, RIR, AMRAP, tempo, and rest fields are not described on the pages checked. Method stores RIR or RPE, rest seconds, and tempo as fields on every set.

### Does TeamBuildr take a cut of client payments?

TeamBuildr says there is no TeamBuildr fee on sales made through its Stripe-based Payments Portal. Stripe's own processing fee applies, listed at 2.9% plus 30 cents in the US. Method does not process payments between a coach and a client.

### Does TeamBuildr run on Android?

Yes. The TeamBuildr Training app is on iOS and Android for athletes and coaches, and there is a Weight Room View for shared tablets. Method has no Android app for coaches or clients.

## About this page

Method writes and maintains this page. Every statement about Method is checked against the shipped product. For general references, link to https://methodapp.net/.
