Method vs Boostcamp for coaches: publishing a program to a library versus coaching one client at a time
Boostcamp is a free workout app for lifters with a library of 11,000+ programs, and coaches appear in it as content partners. It has no client roster, no per-client assignment, and no view of what any one lifter did. Method is a Coach Workspace for private one-to-one coaching. This page lays out what each one gives a coach.
ComparisonUpdated 12 min readMarkdown version
Checked against Boostcamp home on , Boostcamp coaches directory on , Boostcamp coach profile, Cody Lefever on , Boostcamp coach program page, PHUL on , Boostcamp Web Program Creator on , Boostcamp features on , Boostcamp workout tracker on , Boostcamp Pro on , Boostcamp vs Hevy on , Boostcamp Terms and Conditions on , Boostcamp tips blog on , Boostcamp sitemap on , Boostcamp on the App Store on and Boostcamp on Google Play on . Third-party facts can change after that date. Method facts are checked against the shipped product.
The short version of each app
Boostcamp calls itself the free workout app lifters actually use. Lifters pick a program from a library of 11,000+ and follow it in the iOS or Android app. The library includes 130+ coach-designed programs from names such as Geoffrey Schofield and Dr. Eric Helms. Coaches enter the picture as partners. Cody Lefever's profile says he partnered with Boostcamp to launch GZCLP in an app format for free. The site has no coach page, no coach pricing, no coach app, and no way to apply. Any user can build a program on the desktop Program Creator. They can share it by private link or publish it to the community. What happens after that is invisible to the author. Boostcamp Pro, at $14.99 per month for lifters, adds 20+ exclusive coach programs and analytics.
Method is a workout planner and tracker for structured strength and cardio training, with a Coach Workspace for coaches. The coach side is the web app. You build Coach Library programs in the same editor athletes use, with blocks, weeks, sessions, and per-set prescriptions. You invite a client, publish a program to that client, and review every change before it lands. The client follows it in the iPhone app. Completed sets, check-ins, form checks, and messages come back to the workspace. Method has no library, no public publishing, no program sales, and no Android app. Coaching is one to one. The athlete-side comparison is at Method vs Boostcamp.
Side by side
Facts about Boostcamp come from its website, Terms, and store listings on the date shown above. Facts about Method come from the shipped product.
| Method | Boostcamp | |
|---|---|---|
| Who it is for | Coaches who write structured programs for one-to-one clients | Lifters who want a plan and a logger. Coaches appear as content partners in the library |
| Coach side runs on | Web only | No coach side. The consumer app and the desktop Web Program Creator, called beta in a 2024 blog post |
| Client side runs on | iPhone app on iOS 26 or later. Web does not log | iPhone, iPad, Apple Vision, and Android. Logging is mobile-only per Boostcamp's site |
| Android | No | Yes, for lifters |
| Program builder | Blocks, weeks, sessions, per-set prescriptions. Spreadsheet view, bulk edit with preview | Desktop and in-app builder. Multi-week mesocycles, supersets, drop sets, duplicate days and weeks, drag and drop. Fork any program, no cap |
| Set prescription | Set type, exact, range, or AMRAP reps, RIR or RPE with half values, rest, tempo, load relative to another set. Supersets. No percent of a tested 1RM | Sets, reps, weight, RPE 5 to 10 and RIR on every set, percentages, AMRAP, training-max waves, warmup templates. Rep ranges, tempo, and per-exercise notes not described on the pages checked |
| Cardio in programs | 20 activity types with distance or duration targets and intervals | Not described on the pages checked |
| Program delivery | Publish to one client at a time. Coach-dated or client-placed. Publish review lists every change | Public library, private link, or community publish. No per-client assignment described |
| Program library and templates | Coach Library programs per workspace, publishable to several clients as separate assignments | 11,000+ programs, 130+ coach-designed, 20+ Pro exclusives. Lifters can save any program |
| Program sales or marketplace | No | None described. Library programs are free. Coach revenue share or payouts not stated on the pages checked |
| Auto-generated or AI programming | No | Yes, for lifters. Boostcamp's own generator builds a program from a questionnaire, in Pro. Auto-progression loads next session's weights |
| Client logging | Every set with weight, reps, and effort. Cardio detail | Sets, reps, weight, RPE, and RIR, offline once a program is loaded |
| What the coach sees | Coach Today with Review, Reply, and Plan. Per client Training, Trends, Programs, Check-ins, Form checks, Measurements, Notes. Planned beside completed | Nothing per lifter is described. Program pages show aggregate counts, such as 31,689 athletes running PHUL |
| Video form feedback | Either side starts one. Draw on a paused frame, note at a timestamp, send with a summary | Not described on the pages checked |
| Check-ins and forms | Templates from your own questions in eight kinds plus section headings. Check-in on a rhythm and Client intake | Not described on the pages checked |
| Messaging | One conversation per client. Text, photos, videos. Push with sender and text | No in-app coach chat described. The Terms point contact to SMS outside the platform |
| Client payments and billing | No | None described |
| Integrations | Apple Health and Apple Watch cardio on the client's own iPhone | Apple Health bodyweight and workouts. Nothing else stated on the pages checked |
| Trial | 14 days. Client invitations and messaging start with the first payment | No coach plan to trial. Publishing is free. Pro for lifters has a 7-day trial on the annual plan |
| Price (USD, date checked) | $19.99 per month, or 10 months for 12 on annual billing | No coach price. Lifters pay $0, or $14.99 per month or $59.99 per year for Pro |
| Clients included | 5, then $2.00 per client per month | No client concept. Any number of lifters can run a published program |
Where Method is stronger
You have clients, and they are yours. You invite a client by link or email. The invitation lists the grants you ask for, from scheduling into their calendar to viewing their trends. The client sees the list and accepts before anything is shared. Each client has a record with Training, Trends, Programs, Check-ins, Form checks, Measurements, and Notes. Notes stay private to the workspace. Boostcamp's pages describe a library and aggregate counts, with no named lifter attached to a coach.
Publishing is a reviewed step to one person. A Coach Library program is published to one client at a time. You set the start date and training days, or the client places the start in the iPhone app. Editing a published program does nothing to the client until you publish again. Publish review lists every change the client will receive before it lands. If the structure or training days changed, Method offers Publish and reschedule. On Boostcamp a program goes to the library or a link, and the author has no further hand on it.
You see what each client did. Every completed workout stores the prescription it started from, so you see partial sessions and deviations per set. Training shows weight, reps, and effort per set plus cardio detail. Trends shows estimated 1RM per exercise over time with the sessions behind each change. The estimate uses the Epley formula with reps in reserve and excludes warm-ups and drop sets. More on this in planned vs completed.
Form checks come back annotated. Either side can start one. You pause the video, draw on the paused frame, leave a note at that timestamp, and repeat. Then you send it with a summary. The client sees the drawings, the notes, and the summary in the app and can return to them. A workspace default sets the allowance, with a per-client override. Boostcamp's pages describe no video from lifter to coach.
Check-ins are built from your own questions. Question kinds include written answer, yes or no, choice, rating, number, and pain or injury. Measurement and photo in a named pose are there too. A Check-in template runs on a rhythm, and Method sends each one when due. A Client intake template is asked once and can ride on the invitation. Submitted check-ins land under Review and you reply beside the answers. See what to ask in a coaching check-in.
Messaging lives in the product. The inbox holds one conversation per client with text, photos, and videos. The client's iPhone gets a push with the sender and the text. Each message is encrypted with a fresh data key. Boostcamp's Terms point coach contact to text messages or SMS outside the platform.
Where Boostcamp is stronger
Reach. This is the reason a coach is on Boostcamp. The library holds 11,000+ programs. The coach directory lists 47 coaches and 413K athletes trained. The PHUL page alone shows 31,689 athletes running it with 521 ratings. A coach who wants a program in front of a large audience gets that here. Method has no library, no public profile, and no way for a stranger to find your program.
It costs a coach nothing. Publishing a program requires no fee. Sharing by private link requires no fee. Building on the desktop Program Creator requires no fee. Method's Coach Workspace is $19.99 per month in USD on the date checked.
Platforms. Lifters run Boostcamp on iPhone, iPad, Apple Vision, and Android, on iOS 15.1 or later. Method clients need an iPhone on iOS 26 or later. Boostcamp's home FAQ says there is no Apple Watch app, and its features page says there is one.
A prescription model built for lifters. Every set takes RPE 5 to 10 or RIR. Programs carry percentages, AMRAP targets, training-max waves, and a deload schedule the app understands. Auto-progression loads next session's weights when the lifter hits their reps. It adjusts down when they miss. A coach can list suggested exercise alternatives, and coach sets cannot be deleted by the lifter. Method has RIR or RPE with half values and load relative to another set. It has no percent of a tested 1RM and no auto-progression.
Lifter analytics. Lifters get PRs by rep range, volume, and reps, e1RM curves, weekly Sunday reports, and a year-end Wrapped. Pro adds a Strength Score based on IPF DOTS and a per-muscle volume heatmap. Method shows a coach estimated 1RM over time and the sets behind it, and nothing like a score.
Maturity. On the date checked the App Store showed a 4.8 rating across about 10K ratings. Google Play showed 4.7 across 13K reviews with 500K+ downloads. Method's coaching is launching now.
Pricing, read carefully
Boostcamp has no coach pricing, because it has no coach plan. The site has no coach page, and the sitemap shows no coach pricing or coach sign-up page. Publishing a program, sharing it by link, and building on the desktop are free. Lifters pay $0. Boostcamp Pro is $14.99 per month or $59.99 per year in USD on the date checked. The annual plan has a 7-day trial. The 20+ exclusive coach programs sit inside that subscription. Whether Boostcamp pays those coaches, and how much, is not stated on the pages checked. The Terms prohibit users from selling or commercially exploiting platform content. Selling your own program to lifters through Boostcamp is not described anywhere.
Method sells one plan. The Coach Workspace is $19.99 per month in USD on the date checked. It includes 5 clients and 1 workspace member, the owner. Each further client is $2.00 per month and each further member is $9.99 per month. Annual billing charges 10 months for 12, so the base is $199.90 per year. The 14-day trial covers the workspace, the program library, and your own training. Client invitations, client management, and messaging start with the first payment. Clients use their own Method account, free or Pro. Programs you publish do not count toward their free programming weeks. See the pricing page.
A worked example, with one coach on monthly billing and no extra members.
Five clients cost $19.99 per month on Method and $0 on Boostcamp. Fifteen clients cost $39.99 on Method and $0 on Boostcamp. Thirty clients cost $69.99 on Method and $0 on Boostcamp. Boostcamp also pays the coach $0 on the pages checked. It gives the coach no roster, no per-client data, and no channel to those lifters. Method's price buys the roster, the review loop, form checks, check-ins, and messaging. It buys no audience.
Who should pick which
Pick Boostcamp if you want your program in the hands of as many lifters as possible at no cost. Pick it if you write in RPE, RIR, percentages, and AMRAP and want the app to load the weights. Pick it if your lifters are on Android or iPad. Pick it if the coaching happens over text or in person and Boostcamp is the logger they already use.
Pick Method if you coach named clients and want to see what they did. Choose it for a publish step that shows the client's changes first. Choose it for form checks with drawings and timestamped notes. Choose it for check-ins built from your own questions and one inbox per client. Read Method for coaches and the coaching docs before you start a trial. If you are weighing a logger that does have a coach side, see Method vs Hevy Coach. If a team platform with a marketplace is on your list, see Method vs TrainHeroic.
What Method does not do
Method has no program library, no public program page, no private-link sharing, and no community. A stranger cannot find or save your program. It has no program sales, no payouts, and no client payments, invoicing, or subscriptions. It has no auto-progression and no percent-of-1RM prescription, and it does not generate programs. It has no Android app for coaches or clients, no iPad app, and no coach app on any phone. It has no lifter-facing score, heatmap, weekly report, or year-end summary. Coaching is one to one, with no group programs, group chat, or broadcast. Coach exports are none today.
Common questions
- Is Method a Boostcamp alternative for coaches?
- Yes, if you want to coach named clients. Boostcamp has no coach product. It publishes coach programs in a free library for lifters, with no client roster, no per-client assignment, and no view of what one lifter logged. Method gives you a client roster, a reviewed publish step, check-ins, form checks, and messaging.
- Can I coach my own clients on Boostcamp?
- The pages checked describe no way to do that. You can share a program by private link or publish it to the community from the desktop Program Creator. Nothing on the site or store listings describes assigning a program to a named client or seeing that client's sets.
- Does Boostcamp pay coaches for their programs?
- Nothing on the pages checked says so. Library programs are free, and 20+ exclusive coach programs sit inside Boostcamp Pro. Coach revenue share or payouts are not stated, and the Terms prohibit users from selling platform content.
- Which is cheaper, Method or Boostcamp, for a coach?
- Boostcamp costs a coach nothing on the pages checked, because there is no coach plan. Method's Coach Workspace was $19.99 per month in USD on the date checked, with 5 clients included and $2.00 per month for each further client.
- Can my clients use Method on Android?
- No. Clients follow assigned training and log sets in the iPhone app on iOS 26 or later. Boostcamp runs on iPhone, iPad, and Android for lifters.
Try Method
Write your program on the web, log every set on iPhone, and keep the whole history in one place. Free to start.
Related reading
Method vs Boostcamp: following a published program versus writing your own
Boostcamp is a free tracker built around a library of published programs with auto-progression. Method is a planner and logger for programs you write yourself, with a web editor and cardio in the same record. This page sets out where they differ.
Method vs Hevy Coach: a program-first coaching workspace against the simplest coach layer on a gym logger
Hevy Coach puts your clients inside the Hevy workout tracker on iPhone, Android, and both watches, and assigns routines as one program at a time. Method is a Coach Workspace built around dated multi-week programs, structured per-set prescriptions, publish review, check-in templates, and annotated form checks. This page lays out where they differ so you can pick the one that fits how you coach.
Method vs TrainHeroic: a team and marketplace platform compared with private one-to-one coaching
TrainHeroic is a strength coaching platform built around team calendars, leaderboards, and a Marketplace for selling programs. Method is a Coach Workspace for private one-to-one coaching with per-set RIR or RPE prescriptions, publish review, and annotated form checks. This page shows where each one fits.
Method vs TrueCoach: a program-first coaching workspace against a personal trainer business platform
TrueCoach is a broad business platform for personal trainers with a free-text workout builder, payments, habits, nutrition, and wearables. Method is a narrower Coach Workspace built around structured programs, publish review, annotated form checks, and check-in templates. This page lays out where they differ so you can pick the one that fits how you coach.
Method writes and maintains this page. Every statement about Method is checked against the shipped product. If something here is out of date, email contact@methodapp.net. For general references, link to the Method homepage.